1. Home
  2. Calendar Administration
  3. How to Use the Calendar Administrator Link
  1. Home
  2. Sharing / Access / Security
  3. How to Use the Calendar Administrator Link

How to Use the Calendar Administrator Link

With Teamup Calendar, administrator access gives full control over your Teamup calendar. When you create a new Teamup calendar, you are automatically given administrator access. You can also grant administrator access to others by providing administrator-level permission to any account-based user. Be careful when granting administrator access, as it provides full control over your calendar.

If you created a Teamup calendar prior to September 2020, you may have administrator access to your calendar via an administrator link, without having a Teamup user account.

For security reasons, we recommend only using administrator-level access via Teamup user accounts. You can change to a user account and get rid of your old administrator link.

Here’s how to do that:

Switch to user account administrator access

  1. Register for a Teamup user account here.
  2. Open your calendar with your administrator link.
  3. Go to Settings > Sharing > Add User.
  4. Add yourself as a user, being sure to enter the same email address you used for your Teamup user account.
  5. Grant yourself administrator-level access.
  6. Your calendar will now appear on your calendar dashboard, and you can access it without using your old administrator link.
  7. Delete your old administrator link.

Prior to September 2020, a default administrator link named “Administrator” was created with each new calendar. The calendar creator received the administrator link on screen and by email at the time when the new Teamup Calendar is created.

Now, when creating a new Teamup calendar, you are required to login to your user account. This way, your new calendar–and your administrator access–are linked to your user account and are more secure. If you do not have a user account, you can do so when you create a calendar.

Important security note

The more people with administrator access to a calendar, the less secure the calendar is. An individual with administrator access can access the calendar settings, which are the “control center” of the calendar. The settings can be used to control, manage, add, and delete sub-calendars, notifications, and account-based users, and to delete the entire calendar. Do not give administrator access to unauthorized individuals.

Administrator access means the ability to do the following, via the calendar settings:

Be sure to use these abilities carefully and guard them properly to maximize the positive impact of Teamup on your group.

Grant administrator access

When you add a calendar user, you can grant an individual administrator-level access to the calendar. Do so with care. Only provide administrator privileges to authorized individuals who should have full access to the calendar and all calendar settings.

To grant administrator access to a new user:

  1. Go to Settings > Sharing.
  2. Click on Add User.
  3. Enter the email address of the user.
  4. Enter the name for the user. It is helpful to indicate that this user has administrator access.
  5. Check Yes in the Administration section.
  6. Click Save.

To grant administrator access to a current user:

  • If the person is already an account user, find their name in the list of users:
    • Go to Settings > Sharing to see all users and links.
    • Click the Edit icon next to the user.
  • Check the box to grant administrator access.
  • Click the green Save button.

You can create new shareable calendar links in Settings > Sharing. It is possible to grant administrator access to a link. USE CAUTION when granting administrator access via calendar link; it is most secure to control administrator access via user account.

  1. Go to Settings > Sharing.
  2. Click on Create Link.
  3. Name the link. It’s helpful to indicate that this link has administrator access.
  4. Check Yes in the Administration section.
  5. Click Save.
administrator link how to create
This link has administrator access.

To determine if a calendar link has administrator rights, click the blue menu icon on the right of the calendar.

  • If you see Settings on the top of the drop-down list, the link has administrator access. Only administrator links can access the calendar settings. This limitation helps safeguard your calendar from accidental data loss or unauthorized access.
  • If Settings does not appear as an option on the drop-down list, the link does not have administrator privileges.
This link does not have administrator access.

An administrator link gives access to the ‘control center’ of your calendar.  It is therefore important to only use the calendar administrator link when necessary.

Do not share your calendar administrator link with others unless they have permission to access the calendar settings. Keeping your administrator link protected, and using it only when necessary, allows you to keep control of your calendar data, maintain calendar security, and avoid accidental changes or problems in the calendar settings.

  • We recommend limiting the administrator permission to the calendar administrator(s).
  • If a calendar user needs to have full capability to manage events, including adding new events, updating, or deleting existing events, add that user to yoru calendar with Modifier permission. You can do so by going to Settings > Sharing and clicking Add User.
  • DO NOT to use the administrator link when publishing your calendar on Facebook or embedding your calendar into your web site. It would be a serious risk to your calendar content should you allow the public to access the Settings and all sub-calendars with all events.
  • DO NOT use the administrator link to set up notifications for others. When you create a notification subscription, you can choose which calendar link to use from a drop-down menu. The notification email contains that calendar link in it. If you subscribe another person’s email address to notifications with the administrator link, that person will receive emails with an administrator link back to the calendar.
    In other words, you would give the non-administrator users access to the administrator link, which is not desirable behavior.
    Ideally, each individual calendar user should set up their own notifications. This ensures that the correct permissions are allowed in the notification emails.
  • Do not use the administrator link to get the iCalendar feed .ics link for others as the .ics feeds contain the calendar link used to create them. Each .ics feed contains the calendar link it was created from, with the same access permission as that calendar link. 
    Individual calendar users should open the calendar from their own calendar dashboard, then go to the iCalendar feed list and copy the appropriate .ics link.

If you lose your administrator link, use our Calendar Link Recovery Tool to retrieve it.

If you did not enter your email address upon creation of your calendar (before an email address became a mandatory field), it is a good idea to add one now.

Having a designated administrator email makes it easier to retrieve a lost administrator link.

  • Enter your email in Settings > General Settings > Administrator’s email field. We will not use your email address for any other purpose than necessary communication. We only send occasional newsletters and will never spam you.

If you suspect your calendar administrator link has gotten into the wrong hands, you can create another administrator link and delete the original.

  • Do this in Settings > Sharing from the new admin link. Learn how to do this successfully in this article on managing calendar links.

Updated on September 17, 2020