1. Home
  2. Sharing / Access / Security
  3. How to Share Your Teamup Calendar with Users, Groups, or Links

How to Share Your Teamup Calendar with Users, Groups, or Links

Notice as of Nov. 11, 2019: Currently we are rolling out a new feature to a small number of calendars. This feature allows the calendar administrator to grant users access to Teamup Calendar through user accounts. Sharing via calendar links without user accounts works as usual.

If you do not see the new feature available in your Setting > Sharing, it will be available to you at a later time. Thank you for your patience.

Sharing your Teamup calendar

With a Teamup calendar, you can share your calendar securely with an individual, a group, or even with the public. You always have centralized control of what is shared from your calendar, by choosing which sub-calendars to share and whether to include all event details. You also have control of what people can do with your calendar, by setting the level of access permission that each individual or group is given.

Note: if you want to share an individual event, see this article.

Let’s take a look at how it works.

When you open your Teamup calendar with your administrator link, you can go to the calendar settings from a browser and manage the sharing options. Go to Settings > Sharing, and you’ll see this screen:

sharing Teamup Calendar via users, groups, or links

There are three options:

  1. Add user
  2. Create group
  3. Add link

Add user

Teamup registered users can be granted access to your calendar through their user account. You control which sub-calendars they can see, and what permissions they have. Teamup users have a globally synced calendar dashboard, which automatically syncs across devices and platforms when they are logged in.

Note: each subscription level of Teamup allows a different number of users. The Basic (free) plan includes up to 8 users. The Plus plan includes up to 12 users. The Premium plan includes up to 50 users. On the paid plans, you can add additional users if needed. 

Click Add User to set up your first calendar user. And don’t worry: if  they don’t yet have a Teamup user account, they will be able to create one.

Enter the email address of the user:

Sharing calendar - Add users

If the email address is not found in the Teamup user database, they will receive an email invitation to create a user account and access your calendar. You can fill in the basic information and set calendars and permissions to share:

Adding a user

Create a group

Groups are a convenient way to organize users. Let’s say you have a sales team of 10 people. They all need the same access to the calendar. Instead of going through the tedious process of assigning the sub-calendars and permissions for each of these users, you can create a group. You’ll set the access permissions for the entire group, then add individual users to the group.

Assign group permissions and adding group members

Choose a name for the group, select which calendars to share, and then set the permission level.

Creating group, add members

If you already have calendar users, you can add them to the group from the drop-down menu at the bottom. You can also add users here by their email address.

Removing members from a group

You can remove members from a group by clicking the trash icon:

Remove group members

Adding a user to groups from user settings

You can also add users to a group at the bottom of the user setting page when adding a new user or editing an existing user.

add a user to group from user setting

To remove a user from a group, simply click the X beside the user’s name.

Links are a way to give access to your calendar to an individual who is not a user or to groups outside your organization. You can also use links to provide secure public access to your calendar.

To create a link, click the Add Link option on the Sharing screen. Put in a name for the link (make sure it’s something obvious, so you’ll remember who is using the link). Then scroll down to select the sub-calendars to include and set the permissions. You can also add a password if you wish. In the example below, we’ve only included one sub-calendar, with permission set to read-only.

Be careful to set appropriate permissions for links you share.

You can manage the Teamup registered users who have access to your calendar, as well as groups and links. To do so, go to Settings > Sharing. You will see a list of all users, groups, and links that have access to your calendar.

In the screenshot below, you can see the following:

  1. Molly P., a user who has been invited but has not yet registered for a user account. As soon as Molly P. creates her Teamup user account, she can access the calendar via her calendar dashboard.
  2. Mulvaney Jones, a Teamup registered user. He can access the calendar–which will automatically be added to his calendar dashboard–when he logs into his user account.
  3. A read-only link, which has the link URL below the name of the link. This link has read-only permission for all sub-calendars.
  4. Sales Team, a group with mixed permissions for 4 sub-calendars.
On the Sharing screen, you have a list of all users, groups, and links with access to your calendar.

Here’s how to manage users, groups, and links:

  • Click the Eye icon to see a user’s summary in a pop-up window:
When you click the Eye icon beside a user’s name, a pop-up window will show a summary of that user’s calendar access.
  • Click the Edit icon to change access permissions for a user:
Click the Edit icon to change the access granted to a user.

You can toggle the Active button to keep a user, but make them inactive. Or you can delete a user entirely. You can change the calendars shared and/or the permission assigned to any or all sub-calendars. You can also add or remove a user from any group. Once you have made any changes desired, click the green Save button at the top or bottom of the Edit User screen.

  • Click the Copy icon beside a link to copy it; then you can paste it anywhere needed (in your browser, in a message or email, etc.
  • Click the Edit icon beside a link or a group to change the access granted, to rename it, or to delete it.
  • Click the toggle button on the left side to deactivate or activate a user, group, or link. Green color (with a checkmark symbol on the right) means activated; red color (with an x symbol on the left) means deactivated.

Important security notes

  • The best way to maintain security is to be careful to assign appropriate permissions for each user, group, or link. If in doubt, assign a lower permission level; you can always grant a higher access level if needed.
  • Remember that a user who is part of a group will have the calendar access which is assigned to the group; so if the group has Modify permission for all sub-calendars, every user in the group will have the same level of access.
    • What if there is a conflict between permission levels? For example, if a user’s individual permissions are different than the group permissions; or if a user is a member of two groups with different access permissions. When there is a permission conflict, the higher level of permission takes precedence. So if a user’s individual permissions are Not shared or Read-only, but she is part of a group with Add-only permission, she will be given the Add-only access from the group. If the user is removed from the group, her access will revert to her individual permission settings.
  • When a user leaves your organization, be sure to revoke his calendar access. You can do so by going to Settings > Sharing, finding the user in the list, then deactivating or deleting the user.
  • Review your calendar links regularly and deactivate or delete any which are not current, or which may be out-dated. If you have granted temporary access to someone via calendar link, be sure to deactivate or delete the calendar link when the individual no longer needs calendar access. More details here.
Updated on November 10, 2019