1. Home
  2. Quick Tips
  3. How to Choose Between Account Access or Calendar Links

How to Choose Between Account Access or Calendar Links

With Teamup, you can share a calendar by setting up access through user accounts, or by creating a shareable calendar link. No matter which method you use, you always have control of what people can do with your calendar, by setting the level of access permission assigned to each account user or calendar link.

Here is quick look at the pros and cons of each sharing method.

Account-based access

Pros of account-based access

  • Better security: Each calendar user is known, linked to a verified email address, and has unique calendar access via their user account.
    • When someone leaves an organization, their access can be revoked easily without affecting any other users, eliminating risk of the exiting employee having unauthorized access to the calendar. Links do not provide this level of security.
  • An account user may share a calendar event URL directly from within the calendar which can only be opened by others who have the appropriate permission to access that event.
  • Easy access to calendars: Account users have a calendar Dashboard which gives convenient access to all calendars they have access to in one place.
  • One login across devices: Account users can download Teamup mobile apps and log into their user account and access the calendar(s) from their Dashboard.
  • Group permissions: The calendar admin can create a group, set the permission for the group, and add individual users to the group for easy management.
  • Reset iCalendar feeds: For better security and protection of privacy (reducing the risk of having your calendar synced to an unauthorized parties via iCalendar feed), account users can reset all outbound iCalendar feeds when needed.

Cons of account-based access

  • Limited number of users: Each subscription level allows a certain number of account users.
  • Must set up individually: Each user account is tied to an individual person, so each user must be added to the calendar individually.
  • Requires a login: This step can dissuade some from using the calendar.
  • No login required: It is more convenient if you wish to quickly share your calendar without requiring a login.
  • Easy to share with large group: A single shareable link with Read-only permission makes it easy to set up public or group access to a calendar.
  • Easy to access: For users who are not tech-savvy, it’s still easy to open the calendar as they just have to click the link, or you can embed the calendar.
  • High or unlimited number of links: The Free and Plus plans include up to 50 links, and Premium and Enterprise allow unlimited links. See details.
  • Not as secure: While it has some built-in security, a shareable calendar link is not tied to an individual person and does not require a login. So, anyone who has the link can access the calendar unless the admin has enabled password protection.
  • Less control of calendar access: Since a link could be exposed (intentionally or unintentionally) to unauthorized users or former employees, use of links may pose a security risk especially if the calendar contains sensitive information.
  • Misplaced link: If someone does not save or bookmark the link, they will not be able to access the calendar and will have to contact the calendar admin to request the link again.
  • No Dashboard: You must have a user account to have a central calendar Dashboard. Note that links can be added to a Dashboard but this is not done automatically.
  • Confusion or user error: Most conventional calendar apps typically require login, so giving access without a login can create confusion.

See here for more details and scenarios demonstrating account v link access.

Updated on September 23, 2022