1. Home
  2. Sharing / Access / Security
  3. Advanced Access Permissions for Links and Users

Advanced Access Permissions for Links and Users

Teamup Calendar supports a set of advanced access permissions for calendar users and shareable links. Calendar administrators can assign or change access permissions for users, groups, and shareable links by going to Settings > Sharing. This article discusses advanced access permissions and how they can be best used.


The four advanced access permissions

The advanced access permissions available with Teamup include these:

  • Add-only: Allows adding new events. Existing events stay as read-only and cannot be changed. Newly added events can be modified only during a single, time-limited browser session (approx. 30 minutes).
  • Add-only, no details: Same as add-only, but event details are hidden. The newly added event remains editable until the current session expires, then it becomes read-only.
  • Modify my events / Modify from same link: Allows adding new events and editing existing events that have been created by the user or by using the same calendar link.  Otherwise the entries are read-only.
  • Modify my events / Modify from same link, no details: Same as Modify my events / Modify from same link, but details for existing events are shown only if they were created by the same user or using the same link; otherwise, the event details are hidden.

The add-only permission

The add-only permission is helpful when users contribute events to the calendars, but should not modify existing events.

  • The add-only permission could be shared with a large group or used on a calendar link for an embedded calendar; all group members or people accessing the embedded calendar can then add events to the calendar or to selected sub-calendars.
  • The creator of an event can edit their event submission during the current browser session up to 30 minutes. Once the current session is expired, the newly added event becomes read-only to all.

You can see an example in the screenshot below:

  • The Project: Data Migration event was just added and doesn’t have the lock icon yet. This indicates that it is still editable by the creator of the event.
  • After 30 minutes, the lock icon will be displayed on the Project: Data Migration event. The lock icon indicates that the event is now read-only and cannot be modified or deleted.

Hide or show details

With the add-only permissions, you can choose whether to show details of events created by other calendar users, or hide those details.

  • The add-only permission will show details of all calendar events.
  • The add-only, no details permission will hide details of calendar events created by other users.

Add-only scenarios

Frequent scenarios when the add-only option is useful:

  • Local community events (e.g. sports, entertaining, church services).
  • Facility or equipment reservations open to a large community
  • Volunteer signups for non-profit or social events
  • Group diary or record keeping of staff and shift schedules
  • Collective updates by geographically dispersed teams on a shared calendar

See here how using the add-only permission can help with setting up an approval system.

The Modify my events / Modify from same link permission option is useful in cases like these:

  • When a calendar needs to be modified by multiple users, e.g. Engineering services performed at customer sites, such as technical installations and maintenance.
  • When each user needs to add and make changes to events that they created, e.g. Freelancing professional services, such as coaching, training, project management, etc.
  • When users need to add or modify their own events, but not those created by others, e.g. Shared meeting rooms in office buildings available for booking by multiple tenants.
  • Teamup makes it easy to deactivate, reactivate, or delete users, groups, and shareable links at anytime. This makes the modify my events / modify from same link option helpful for ad-hoc coordination needs.

If you are sharing a calendar via a shareable calendar link, the permission level is called modify from same link.

This permission level allows multiple users to edit events on the same sub-calendars, but only make changes to the events they created.

Note, however, that if multiple users use the same calendar link, they will all be able to modify all the events added by each other. That’s because this permission is link-based, not user-based. To avoid this situation, either a) create a unique calendar link for each user, or b) share the calendar with account-based access and use the Modify my events permission.

Tip: When using a shareable calendar link, use a specific name for the shareable link for easy recognition. This would make tracking event changes easier, as the link name is used in the logs. See here for more information.

Modify my events permission

If you are sharing a calendar with a Teamup account user, the permission is called modify my events.

Some advantages of using the modify my events permission include:

  • Users with the modify my events permission can create, modify, and delete events, but only events they created, not those of others. This reduces the amount of unintentional deletions or modifications.
  • A single user can have modify my events permission for certain sub-calendars, and another permission type for other sub-calendars, making calendar access highly flexible. For example, a team member could have modify access to their own sub-calendar, and modify my events permission to the shared team calendar.
  • Should an individual user with a modify my events permission (or any permission, for that matter) no longer need access to the calendar, then it would simply be a case of removing them from the calendar as a user. More on managing users and groups. Or, if you have provided a shareable link, simply delete the link. More on managing calendar links.

Hide or show details of other events

You can choose to hide or show details of other events. Here’s an example of team member Kelly’s permissions. She has Modify my events, no details permission for the Appointments calendar, and Modify my events permission for the Availability calendar:

Here is Kelly’s calendar view:

  • The lock icon indicates that the event is Read-only; note that the lock icon is present on other team member’s sub-calendars (Kelly has Read-only permission for these) and on the events created by others on the Appointments and Availability sub-calendars.
  • For events created by others on the Appointments calendar, Kelly can only see the title as Reserved. She can see event details for all events on the Availability sub-calendar, but only the events she created herself.
1) Include visible details

The modify my events / modify from same link permission will include details of events created by other users. This permission option is particularly useful for closed communities that want to:

  • share resources transparently
  • resolve possible conflicts
  • communicate efficiently.

Examples:

  • Class reservations of school computer labs.
  • Conference room reservations in companies.
  • Shared equipment or space bookings for sports clubs.
  • Boat reservations in homeowner communities.

See this Live Demo to play around with this type of calendar permission in action.

2) Keep details hidden

The modify my events, no details / modify from same link, no details permission will hide details of events created by other users or through a different calendar link.

This permission is particularly useful for small businesses and service providers, when client privacy is important. If it is necessary to coordinate service schedules with multiple suppliers and customers, this permission allows you to do so while still maintaining the privacy of individual client or partners.

Details of events created by others are hidden. The title of those events is shown as Reserved.

Keywords: control, prevent conflicts, hide information

Updated on November 16, 2022