1. Home
  2. Sharing / Access / Security
  3. How to Customize Access and Share Selected Calendars with Account Users

How to Customize Access and Share Selected Calendars with Account Users

A Teamup Calendar always has at least one sub-calendar and can have multiple sub-calendars. These can be set up by the calendar administrator in Settings > Calendars. 

Giving users access to a Teamup calendar is what we call sharing, which can be done through account-based access or unique shareable calendar links. The calendar administrator can add and manage account users. This article explains how to select which sub-calendars to share and how to set customized access permissions for each account user.  

Customize calendar access for account users

  1. Go to Settings > Sharing.
  2. Click Add User and enter the email address of the person you’d like to add as a user.
  3. Continue as shown below to select sub-calendars and customize the access level for each user.
  4. Click on Save when finished.

See more details.

Select which sub-calendars to share

  • In the section Calendars Shared, choose Selected calendars from the drop-down menu. Then set the desired access permission that the user has for each calendar. For any calendar you do not want the user to access, set the permission to Not Shared. Setting the calendar permission to Not Shared means the account user won’t see that sub-calendar at all.
  • In the example below, only two calendars are shared with the account user: 

Set the access level for shared sub-calendars

  • For each sub-calendar you wish to share with the account user, select the Permission to the access level that’s appropriate. In the example above, the account user Linda is given Modify permission to her own sub-calendar, and Read-only permission to the Team calendar. 

The calendar administrator can return to Settings > Sharing at any stage to see a list of users and  adjust shared calendars or access levels as needed:

Go to Settings > Sharing. Filter by Users. Click Edit to modify the permissions for a user.

Access permission levels

Teamup currently supports the following access permissions:

  • Administrator: Includes all permissions and is the only permission level allowing access to the calendar Settings. When you create a new calendar, you are provided with administrator access via your user account. Be very careful about granting administrator access to anyone else. Only grant administrator access to individuals authorized to access the calendar settings, and do so by assigning administrator permission via that individual’s user account.
  • Modify: View, modify, create and delete calendar events.
  • Read-only: View calendar events including details but can not make changes.
  • Read-only, no details:  View calendar with events marked as reserved time blocks but no further event details.  No changes are allowed.
  • Add-only: Allows adding new events, can only read but not modify any existing events.  Newly added events can be modified only during the current browser session (up to approximately 30 minutes).
  • Add-only, no details: Same as Add-only but the details of any existing events are hidden (marked as reserved).
  • Modify-from-same-link / Modify-my-events: Add new events and modify any existing events that are created via the same link, but can only read and not modify any existing events created via other calendar links.
  • Modify-from-same-link, no details / Modify-my-events, no details: Add new events and modify any existing events that are created via the same link, but the details of any events created by others will be hidden (marked as reserved).

Modify or revoke access

Modify access for a user

If you need to change the access you’ve assigned to a user, you can do so easily: 

  1. Go to Settings > Sharing.
  2. Find the individual user in the list. 
  3. Click the pencil icon by the user’s name.
  4. Scroll down to the calendar list and modify the permissions as needed, then Save.

Revoke access for a user

You may need to remove access for an account user. For example, if someone leaves your organization and they should no longer have access to the calendar, you can remove their calendar access completely:

  1. Go to Settings > Sharing.
  2. Find the individual user whose access must be removed on the list. If you have a long sharing list with many users and links, use the filters.
  3. Click the pencil icon by the user’s name. 
  4. Click the Remove button:

You can also share selected sub-calendars, with customized access permission, via unique shareable calendar links. See this article to learn how. 

Updated on June 28, 2022