1. Home
  2. Quick Tips
  3. How to Add an Event for Participants in Multiple Time Zones

How to Add an Event for Participants in Multiple Time Zones

Perhaps you have a situation like this: you need to add a meeting to the shared team calendar. You’re in the Pacific time zone, and the meeting will be at 8am PST. But the other team members are in different time zones. You want to make sure that the meeting shows up on their calendars at the appropriate time for their time zone.

Here’s how to do it in Teamup.

One event in multiple time zones

You want to set up the team meeting to occur at 11 AM Eastern Time / 10 AM Central Time / 9 AM Mountain Time / 8 AM Pacific Time.

  • The team members in San Francisco will join the call at 8 AM local time.
  • The team members in Denver will join the call at 9 AM local time.
  • The team members in Chicago will join the call at 10 AM local time.
  • The team members in New York will join the call at 11 AM local time.

Since you’re in PST and your calendar is displaying in PST (as shown in the bottom right), you can leave the time zone of your calendar as PST, and create the event for 8 AM:

When a team member in Denver views the event, with the time zone of their calendar set to MST, the event time will show as 9am:

Automatic time zone detection

The event’s time will automatically adjust to correspond with the time zone setting it’s being viewed in. For team members in Chicago, with their calendar displaying Central Time, the event will start at 10 AM:

And in New York, with the calendar set to display Eastern Time, the event time will be 11 AM:

Add events outside your local time zone

Perhaps your local time zone is Pacific time, and your supervisor is in the Eastern time zone. She sends you a list of meetings and appointments to put on the calendar. The event times are all for Eastern time zone. Instead of mentally converting the timing from Eastern to Pacific for each event as you add it to the calendar, do this:

  1. Change the displayed time zone of your calendar to EST.
  2. Add all the events in the original time set by your supervisor:

  3. Change the displayed time zone of your calendar back to PST, your local time:

The event times will automatically adjust to the displayed time zone.

Now, when your supervisor views her calendar, she will see all the events at their starting times in her local time zone (Eastern) and you will see the starting times adjusted for your local time zone (Pacific).

Pro Tips

Updated on February 10, 2022