1. Home
  2. Start Here
  3. Intro to Shareable Calendar Links
  1. Home
  2. Sharing and Permissions
  3. Intro to Shareable Calendar Links

Intro to Shareable Calendar Links

You can share a Teamup calendar by adding users, which provides the most secure and convenient calendar access. You can also create shareable calendar links that are appropriate in some scenarios.

Shareable calendar links allow others to access the calendar without logging in. They can be used to provide temporary calendar access to someone outside your organization, to embed a calendar on your own website, or to share a read-only view of the calendar. 

⚠️ Since anyone can access the calendar via a shareable link, be very careful to set the appropriate permission (read-only is the recommended default).

In some cases, you may need to provide calendar access more broadly or without requiring a login. Shareable calendar links work well for these situations. You can embed the calendar with a secure link, and they work well for setting up secure public or group access. Be sure to assign an appropriate permission level to keep your calendar safe.

  • Calendar links are created and managed by the calendar administrator.
  • Each calendar link can include all sub-calendars or selected sub-calendars.
  • Permissions are set for each sub-calendar included. Read-only permission is the default recommendation for a shareable calendar link. 
  • Shareable calendar links do not require a login. 
  • Shareable calendar links should not be used for calendars that contain confidential or security-sensitive information.

ℹ️ When and How to Safely Use Shareable Calendar Links

Security considerations

When using a shareable calendar link, it’s important to assign the safest permission level, include only the relevant information, and understand the security risks:

  • Usable by anyone: A shareable calendar link is not tied to an individual person and does not require a login. Anyone who has the link can access the calendar.
  • Confidentiality risk: A link could be exposed to unauthorized users or shared beyond a designated group, creating a confidentiality risk if the calendar contains sensitive information.
  • Untrackable use: Because calendar links can be used by anyone, it’s not possible to track who accessed a calendar through a particular link.
  • Lost calendar access: If someone loses the calendar link, they lose calendar access. They will have to contact the calendar admin to request the link again.

An administrator link is a calendar link that provides full administrator access to the calendar settings. Administrator links are deprecated and no longer supported. 

Administrator access is now managed through your Teamup user account, which is more secure. 

If your Teamup calendar was created in or before 2020, you may be using an administrator link instead of secure, account-based administrator access. To keep your calendar secure, switch to account-based access immediately and delete the old administrator link.  This guide will walk you through the process. 

ℹ️ User Account Access vs Calendar Links

ℹ️ How to Tell If Your Calendar Access Is by Email or Link

ℹ️ Manage Calendar Links

ℹ️ Add a Calendar Link to Your Phone or Mobile Device

 

Updated on October 6, 2026
WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner