1. Home
  2. Sharing / Access / Security
  3. How to Use the “Modify My Events” Access Permission

How to Use the “Modify My Events” Access Permission

The Modify my events access permission is a unique permission that allows an account user to modify events that they created themselves on the calendar. They can see other events on the sub-calendars that were created by other users but  can not modify them.

modify-my-events access permission

What the Modify my events permission means

  • You can view all events and event details on the sub-calendar(s).
  • You can add new events.
  • You can modify or delete the events that you have added.
  • You cannot modify or delete events that someone else has added to these sub-calendars.

Events that cannot be modified (events created by other calendar users) will have a small lock icon on them to indicate that they are read-only and cannot be modified.

When to use the Modify my events permission

This is a good access permission to use when multiple people need to add and update calendar events, but you do not want one user to delete or change another user’s events. For example, if you have a shared “Vacation/PTO” calendar for staff members, you can use the Modify my events access permission when you add your staff as account users. Then all staff members can see each other’s vacation or PTO as scheduled, but cannot change or delete it. They can all add their own vacation requests, and modify them as needed, but cannot modify each other’s requests or scheduled PTO.

The Modify my events, no details access permission adds another layer of protection to your calendar. It prevents the calendar user from seeing any details of events created by others on the calendar.

modify-my-events-no-details access permission

What Modify my events, no-details means

  • You can add new events.
  • You can modify any existing events that you created via your calendar access.
  • You can see the date and time of events created by other users, but
  • You cannot see the details of any events created by others, which are simply marked as Reserved.

It is important to set up individual access for each user for the Modify my events and Modify my events, no-details permissions to be effective.

Learn more:
Updated on April 18, 2021