1. Home
  2. Sharing / Access / Security
  3. Access to Historical Data

Access to Historical Data

Historical data refers to all events in the past. Teamup Calendar automatically stores historical data up to the limit allowed by the calendar’s current subscription plan.

Historical data

Historical data refers to events that are in the past, and all the data (notes, images, uploaded files, custom field data) attached to those past events.

An event that is one month old is historical data; an event that is five years old is historical data. All data that lives in the past on a Teamup calendar is historical data.

  • Historical data limits: Each subscription plan determines how much historical data is accessible (for example, 1 year or 5 years).
  • Historical data retention: Inaccessible historical data is retained for a limited time before it is permanently deleted. Once deleted, it cannot be restored, even if the subscription is upgraded.
  • Historical data access: Upgrading the subscription plan immediately restores access to additional historical data. See the details below.

Historical data limits

Each subscription plan determines how far back you can access historical data. See the pricing page for a comparison.

  • It is not possible to add events to dates that are older than your calendar’s historical data limit.
  • Deleted events are not included in historical data.
  • As events become older than the historical data limit for the current subscription plan, they “age out” and become inaccessible on a rolling basis.

For example: If a subscription plan includes one year of historical data, events become inaccessible as they pass the one-year mark. This happens on a rolling basis, so the accessible date range continuously moves forward over time. Inaccessible events are no longer displayed on the calendar and cannot be viewed by any users, including calendar administrators.

Historical data retention

When events become older than the historical data limit of the current subscription plan, they become inaccessible. Inaccessible events are no longer visible on the calendar, but they are retained for a limited time. During the retention period, upgrading a calendar’s subscription plan will instantly restore access to retained historical data up to that plan’s limit.

Retention periods

  • Free plan: 5 years total retention (1 year of accessible historical data + 4 years of retained historical data)
  • Plus plan: 7 years total retention (5 years of accessible historical data + 2 years of retained historical data)
  • Higher plans: 99 years total retention

When the applicable retention period ends, historical data is permanently deleted. Once deleted, it cannot be restored, even if the subscription is upgraded.

Access to historical data

Upgrading a subscription plan provides immediate access to any retained historical data that falls within the historical data limit of the new plan.

  • If you downgrade a calendar’s subscription plan, older historical data will become inaccessible based on the limits of the new plan.
  • You can restore access to retained historical data at any time by upgrading the subscription plan. Upgrading restores access to retained historical data according to the limits of the upgraded plan.
  • See the pricing page for a comparison of historical data limits for all subscription plans.

Please note that Teamup cannot control the retention of data provided through inbound iCalendar feeds:

  • If the source of an inbound iCalendar feed (such as Airbnb or another booking platform) removes past events, those events are also removed from Teamup.
  • Once the source deletes the data, Teamup cannot retrieve or restore it, even if the subscription plan is upgraded.

Exporting historical data

You can export your calendar data at any time. To keep complete records of historical data without upgrading, export it on a regular basis:

  • Calendar administrators can use the bulk export feature to export historical data (CSV or ICS format).
  • All users can save calendar data to a PDF file to download and/or print.

If you are at your sub-calendar limit, you can deactivate different sub-calendars to activate others and access their data. Deactivating/activating sub-calendars in this manner will allow you to access all your calendar data in turn (within the historical data time limit).

Updated on August 4, 2026
WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner